Sunday, May 4, 2008


Hey guys (and gals)! Please check out my own listening station at the right margin of the blog. Yup, it is one with the title Holding On Listening Station. I recommend the two classical pieces most especially Ludwig Van Beethoven's Pathétique or its formal name Piano Sonata No.8 in C minor, Op.13 -"Pathétique" - 2. Adagio cantabile - an incredible romantic piece. This is the second movement of the maestro's Piano Sonata No.8. I described it as romantic though experts say it is "tragic" or accurately put the sonata's tragic sonorities motivated the publisher to name it “Pathétique". A pretty sad piece as if one is waiting for his lover that could never return or trying to meet someone that didn’t prosper. Yeah, it’s tragic.

Facts are boring says copyblogger. But at the risk of being that I’ll still give you guys some facts about the sonata.

Beethoven's Piano Sonata op. 13 in C minor also known as " Pathetique " is by far the most well-known work from his early creation, composed in 1798 but published in 1799 and dedicated to prince Karl Lichnowsky. Some sources attribute the title to Beethoven himself, while others state that the title was given by the publisher of the sonata, who was so impressed by its tragic sonorities that he proposed Beethoven the name Pathetique.

The sonata has three parts.

  1. Grave: Allegro di molto e con brio
  2. Adagio cantabile
  3. Rondo: Allegro


Related Posts by Categories

No comments: